Dear Blog Readers,

July 15, 2009

Well, I thought that I was ready to get back in the swing of things after my 4th of July shenanigans, but apparently I wasn’t.  Some days I’m just too exhausted to form coherent sentences, let alone express my opinions about books…but I’ll get back on track soon.

Divine Dumbledore

In the mean time, I wanted to ask you (all three or four of you) what you’re most excited to see in the new Potter flick (or, if you’re like me and you’ve seen it already, what you thought of it).  After seeing it last night in a buzz of excitement and with a few Mike’s Hard Lemonades under my belt, I thought it was fantastically, beautifully done, but also probably a little incomprehensible to someone who hasn’t read the book.  They try treally hard to make the story make sense, but there’s just so much text in the book that a lot had to be cut.  I think it was solid and clear emotionally, but the plot felt so high-speed that it was a little like seeing a really long, in-depth preview rather than the movie itself.  Still, I want to see it again when I’m not buzzed and half asleep to make sure it wasn’t just me.

The cinematography was really lovely, though, and I thought Dumbledore and Draco were both played exceptionally well.  I was also a little shocked by Ron’s impressive biceps and how awkward he manages to look in spite of his physique.  Anyway, that’s enough from me for now–I want to know what you thought of it/are hoping for!  Write back soon!  😉

Love,

apple