Dear Trenton Lee Stewart and Diana Sudyka,

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous JourneyThe Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey – Trenton Lee Stewart – 464 pages

“The Mysterious Benedict Society is back with a new mission, significantly closer to home. After reuniting for a celebratory scavenger hunt, Reynie, Kate, Sticky, and Constance are forced to go on an unexpected search–a search to find Mr. Benedict. It seems that while he was preparing the kids’ adventure, he stepped right into a trap orchestrated by his evil twin Mr. Curtain. With only one week to find a captured Mr. Benedict, the gifted foursome faces their greatest challenge of all–a challenge that will reinforce the reasons they were brought together in the first place and will require them to fight for the very namesake that united them.”  – Little, Brown Kids website

I was completely delighted by the original Mysterious Benedict Society, and I’m happy to say that I was equally delighted by the second installment!  The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey was just as funny, charming, thrilling, and emotionally honest as its predecessor.  Mr. Stewart, I was moved by your descriptions of the kids’ friendship–they’re precocious in their understanding of their own feelings, but they’re precocious in other ways too, so it made sense.  They reminded me of myself and my closest friends (yay BMVCOE!) and I really enjoyed that.

Not to mention the fun I had trying to figure out all the little pieces of the mystery, and the ups and downs I lived vicariously as the tables turned for the kids time and time again.  This is one of those books that makes me feel like Bastian in the school attic reading The Neverending Story, and living Atreyu’s trials along with him.  Your prose is fantastic, your understanding of storytelling is superb, and I can’t wait to read the next book!  Of course, I’ve also got to give some credit to Diana Sudyka–the illustrations are unique in style and surprisingly evocative to me, and the book wouldn’t be the same without them.  All in all, another five stars for you both!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Books this year: 96

Pages this year: 18,906

Leave a Reply

