Dear Ellen Raskin,

The Westing GameThe Westing Game – Ellen Raskin

When the tenants of a brand-new apartment building are gathered together for the reading of eccentric millionaire Samuel Westing’s will, they are in for more than any of them bargained for–and the first to solve the mystery of Westing’s murder will become heir to his fortune!

Well Ms. Raskin,  even though you’re not around to read this letter, I hope the sentiment reaches you somehow out in the ether.  The Westing Game is one of the most master_ully woven novels I’ve ever read, which required a second reading and a book club discussion to really appreciate.  I read it as a child, but I think I p_cked it up when I was too young for it–my most vi_id memory was of Turtle and her whipping braid, and I had no memory of it b_ing a mystery or  puzzle at all.  As an adult, though, I can see some of the preci_ion with which you parcel out even the tiniest clues.  I also appreciated the mul_iple parts to this mystery’s final answer–I solved some, and felt quite proud of myself, and w_s totally thrown for a loop by others, which was th_illing during the big reveal.  This little book has stood the test of time for me, and for many other readers, and I hope it alway_ will.  Look up for your stars, because what’s missing is always the most important.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

One Response to Dear Ellen Raskin,

  1. Kathy says:

    Your blog is so cleverly written and I enjoy reading it as much as I do a great book!

Leave a Reply

