Dear Lee Bennett Hopkins and Marcellus Hall,

City I LoveWell, National Poetry Month is quickly drawing to an end and I haven’t posted about any poetry!  Silly silly me!  It’s a problem easily remedied with City I Love.  You open spectacularly with “Sing a Song of Cities,” which I love so much I feel the need to post here:

Sing a song of cities.
If you do,
Cities will sing back
to you.

They’ll sing in subway roars and rumbles,
People-laughs, machine-loud grumbles.

Sing a song of cities.
If you do,
Cities will sing back.

Cities will sing back
to you.

This is my favorite poem in the book, and also my favorite illustration–a beautiful spread of New York City, with a blue and purple watercolor skyline background and stark black and white high-contrast skyscrapers in the foreground.  The cute traveling dog and bird who appear in each spread are introduced here, sitting happily on the art-deco gargoyles of the Chrystler Building.  I took immense pleasure in finding the dog and bird in each successive city spread, and took even greater pleasure in the dynamic shapes of the poems, the clever ways you play with placement and spacing.  I love short poems, and visually oriented poems, and poems with very short lines–so this book was great for me.  The art is vibrant and wonderfully stylized, and you both managed to capture the feeling of travel and the feeling of cities vividly.  You’ve made me even more eager than I was before to take another whirlwind travel tour, like I did when I was doing my junior semester abroad in London.  A delightful four stars!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

2 Responses to Dear Lee Bennett Hopkins and Marcellus Hall,

  1. lee bennett hopkins says:

    Dear One:

    Thank you for such lovely words about my book.

    Lee Bennett Hopkins

Leave a Reply

