Dear Jonah Winter and André Carrilho,

You Never Heard of Sandy Koufax?!I picked up You Never Heard of Sandy Koufax?! as a gift for a friend, not for any of the logical reasons, but because Sandy Koufax is one of the baseball players mentioned in a song in our favorite musical, Falsettos.  Imagine my delight when I read it before wrapping it up, and discovered that not only did it serve as an obscure reference between my friend and I, but it’s also a spectacular picturebook!  The writing was funny and endearing, and I loved the chummy teammate voice you use to address the reader.  Of course, for me picturebooks are always really about the art–and this art is spectacular.  The only images of the cover I could find don’t show it, but the book has this fantastic lenticular cover image that, when you tilt the book side to side, shows Sandy winding up for a fierce high-speed pitch.  The interior art is incredibly striking, too; the cool grays and blues and understated golds of the spreads give the whole thing an art deco kind of feel, which I totally love, and it’s all full of long fluid limbs and dynamic lines and soulful, Hirschfeld-esque close-ups.  The art really brought home the sheer athletic beauty of a baseball player I knew next-to-nothing about before.  You’ve managed to make a sports biography that reads like any great picturebook, which is no easy feat!  Five stars, for sure!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

2 Responses to Dear Jonah Winter and André Carrilho,

  1. Kathy says:

    Sandy Koufax was a BROOKLYN DODGER! I don’t think I’ve ever met him, but he played with the Dodgers at the same time Grandpa did in the early 60’s!

Leave a Reply

