Dear Kate Banks,

Walk Softly, RachelI decided to continue reading books about girls named Rachel, at least as far as reading your Walk Softly, Rachel.  Like with the previous Rachel book from yesterday, I wasn’t sure I would like it when I started.  The language was a little too flowery and poetic for me, which is odd since I love poetry, but I think it was just a strange change of pace after Judy Blume’s plain language.  As I kept reading, I wound up really loving this story.  You had this really delicate interplay going between Rachel’s narration and her dead brother’s journal entries, setting the reader up really nicely for the revelation at the end.  I wasn’t so sure about the parents–they seemed a little unreal to me–but Rachel and especially Jake both rang very true to me.  Four stars for this one, a sad but honest, personal sort of read.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

