Dear Philip Pullman,

Once Upon a Time in the NorthI’ve loved His Dark Materials almost since the very beginning, and I remember waiting for the third installment with extreme anticipation.  I’m sure you can imagine how excited I was to finally get around to reading Once Upon a Time in the North, and you didn’t disappoint me.  This little book was full of Lee Scoresby’s rough and honorable charm, Hester’s dry wit, and your delightful prose.  I was thrilled with the appearance of Iorek Byrnison, and I loved the little side stories and amusing characters you peppered the plot with.  Also, though I’m sure you had little to do with this, the design of the book is great–I love the cloth binding and the small trim size.  I want to give this great little book a five, but somehow I feel like in comparison to the primary His Dark Materials books it’s got to be a four–just because they were SO AWESOME, and this little prequel was fantastic but not complex enough to be up to the same level of excellence.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

