Dear Susan Beth Pfeffer,

Life As We Knew ItOkay, WOW.  Somehow you’ve managed to write a book just for me, or so it seemed as I was reading Life As We Knew It.  First of all, your prose is the ultimate example of “show don’t tell,” which I try to live by in my own writing, and which I always greatly admire (or desire more of) in others’ work.  Secondly, I love journal-type fiction with dates that help me keep track of time, and it just so happens that the day the asteroid hit the moon is my birthday.  Weird, right?  Thirdly, I grew up in northeastern PA and my entire family lives either in New York, Jersey, or also PA, so the locality of the story was devastatingly familiar.  Fourthly…well, I love disaster stories, and I love apocalyptic survival stories, so this was right up my alley.

I actually started reading this book on the subway, and I had to stop for fear of creating a scene–the first news report that the narrator and her family see after the moon moves reminded me so vividly of sitting on a shuttle bus as a sophomore in college, listening on the bus radio as the Twin Towers collapsed, that I almost burst into tears right there on the Red line.  This book was heartbreaking and hopeful and intimate and frightening, and I’ll be reading the sequel as soon as I can get my trembling little hands on it.  Five extremely enthusiastic stars.  Oh, and OMG, I just noticed your blog about the third installment!  I’m thrilled but do not wish to be spoiled, so I will stay away!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

