Dear Blog Readers,

Well, I’m a couple of days behind the times on this, but the nominees for the Hugo Awards were announced a few days ago!  I’m not as up on the sci-fi and fantasy genres as I once was, but two of the five Best Novel nominees are middle grade/teen titles that I’ve read and loved and reviewed on this blog!  There’s The Graveyard Book, which has been getting much deserved attention as of late (both in this blog and in the wider world) and Little Brother by Cory Doctorow, which I foisted upon my roommate (who loved it and foisted it upon another friend).

I also want to point out Shaun Tan, who’s nominated for Best Professional Artist.  I’ve only reviewed him here in tandem with Kelly Link, an oversight I intend to remedy in the near future, but his work is amazing, and I always love it.  I did write a little review of Tales From Outer Suburbia for the Curious George blog, which you can read here.

Also, I’m rooting for Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog in the Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form category and for Serenity:  Better Days in the Best Graphic Story category.  Go Joss!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

