Dear Anne Fadiman,

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall DownI read The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down for book club this month, and I’m quite glad I did–it was a fascinating read that I probably wouldn’t have picked up otherwise.  You did an absolutely brilliant job navigating the treacherous waters of racism and cultural misunderstanding, and I never felt that you were trying to sway me one way or the other without having first made your own biases clear.  The organization of this book was excellent, too–you managed to turn a nonfictional account of one girl’s illness into a suspense story and an anthropology/sociology lesson by turns, always keeping my interest peaked.  I do wish that there had been some hint of the perspectives or feelings of Lia’s many siblings, and some other book clubbers voiced the same desire, but I’m willing to trust that your reasons for not addressing them more were sound.  Five stars for an engrossing, thought-provoking and intellectual read.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

