Dear Gayle Forman,

If I StayIf I Stay broke my heart into a million little pieces, and I mean that in a good way.  You somehow managed to write an incredibly tragic book without it ever being overwrought, over-angsty, or overwhelming.  I love that it’s about survival, and about living your life to the fullest even when you’ve suffered a terrible loss, and it’s about family being not just your parents and your siblings, but your lovers and your friends too.  It also reminded me favorably of The Lovely Bones, one of my favorite books of all time, since both are told from the perspective of a soul that’s out of its body.  (PS–IMDB says there’s a movie of The Lovely Bones in the works.  Huzzah!!)  Your book is less metaphysical, but no less heartwrenching, and after reading it I drafted a long text message to my best friend urging her to tell everyone she’s my sister if I should ever be in Intensive Care and closed to visitors other than immediate family.  Got that, Mom?  I didn’t wind up sending the message, deciding it might be a little startling out of context, but the strength of my reaction was there.  Five stars.  I’m also going to tag it as realism, even though it’s a story told by a girl having an out-of-body experience–first because, well, I tend to believe in things like that, and second because aside from that one aspect, it is realism.  I hope you’re down with that.   

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

One Response to Dear Gayle Forman,

Leave a Reply

