Dear ALA,

Hooray for you and your awards!  I support a lot of the choices this year, and I’ve read and reviewed some of them previously–so here’s a roundup of my reviews of books that won exciting things!

The Graveyard Book The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Dave McKean – Newbery Winner!

I am beyond thrilled that this title was the winner.  The story is extremely deserving, it has a   wide and wonderful appeal, and the genre can always use more attention.  Read my review here.

.

The Underneath The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, illustrated by David Small – Newbery Honor!

Another amazing book that’s entirely deserving of recognition–and perhaps a courageous choice, since this isn’t the kind of title that has a wide-ranging appeal.  Read my review here.

.

Savvy Savvy by Ingrid Law – Newbery Honor!

I think this title is another worthy but possibly risky choice for Newbery recognition.  I loved it, personally, but the dialectic language turned a lot of people off–even so, I’m super glad it got an honor!  Read my review here.

.

River of Words A River of Words by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet – Caldecott Honor!

Though I was disappointed that my top Caldecott pick didn’t make it onto the honor list, I am quite glad that this title did–it’s beautiful, and wonderfully unusual.  Read my review here.

.

We Are the Ship We Are the Ship by Kadir Nelson – Coretta Scott King Winner, Illustrator Honor Book and Sibert Winner!

This book is an enigma–I love it, but it defies any category I try to put it in, and it certainly deserves recognition.  Read my review here.

.

Moribito Guardian of the Spirit Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit by Nahoko Uehashi, translated by Cathy Hirano, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu – Batchelder Winner!

What a surprise–I just finished reading this book, and it won an award!  I’m quite delighted–it’s a great title.  Read my review here.

.

All in all, a pretty nice little handful of award-winners!  I’m sure the other winning and honor books are also great–I just haven’t had a chance to read them.  Ah well…you can’t read ’em all.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

