Dear Carrie Ryan,

The Forest of Hands and TeethI could not put The Forest of Hands and Teeth down!  I mean, I did, because I had to go to work and stuff, but…definitely a page-turner!  I was shocked to find that it isn’t exactly the mythy/folky fantasy that the title and cover suggest.  I mean, to some degree it is, but it’s also something else very different, that I won’t reveal, so as not to spoil any surprises for folks other than you.  Since it doesn’t even come out ’til ’09, and all.  Anyway, back to something resembling a review.  I found it consistently intriguing, but not overly dramatic, though the last few chapters tended toward a Hamlet-like death toll.  I’m still reconciling myself to where you left the ending–I think I want to like it, but I haven’t gotten there yet.  All in all, this book was a little creepy, kind of detached (in a pleasant way), and altogether a great five-star read.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

One Response to Dear Carrie Ryan,

  1. […] You’ve pulled together this really interesting mood that starts out sort of The Village-or-Forest of Hands and Teeth-esque, and then it sort of morphs into this slightly weirder Campbellian journey.  The Moonroads […]

Leave a Reply

