Dear Neil Gaiman,

The Graveyard BookI take back the less-than-stellar review I gave to Fragile Things.  Well, no, I don’t actually take that back, it was an honest telling of my experience, but WOW.  The Graveyard Book makes up for it times five thousand.  You have regained your position in the heights of my personal Mount Olympus, way up there with Pete & Kevin, and Joss, and Zilpha, and most recently Kelly.  What a stellar constellation they make.

Anyway, back to the book.  Knowing how absolutely delightful your reading voice is, I downloaded an audio copy from audible.com (for free, I might add).  I was certainly not disappointed–I think audio is the best way to experience a Gaiman book.  Unless it’s a comic, clearly.  (And I should take this moment to say that from what I’ve seen of the illustrations, Dave McKean’s art is, as always, amazing.)  Anyway, you made my commute a thrill every day.  I love Bod, I love Silas even more, and I adore the way you don’t explain everything, and leave so many things for me to figure out myself.  It was extremely satisfying.  I laughed, I cried, and I did it all on the Orange and Red lines, so probably the other riders all think I’m nuts.  That’s just the way I like it.  Five stars, for certain!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

