Dear Jennifer Weiner,

The Guy Not TakenOk.  I had trouble with The Guy Not Taken.  It’s not the sort of book I normally read.  In fact, it’s the sort of book that I feel a little embarrassed to be seen with on the subway.  SO GIRLY, UGH.

I read it anyway.  And I did read the whole thing.  In fact, the writing itself, objectively, was extremely good.  You do have a literary talent, in spite of the chick lit thing you’ve got going on.

Your take on women, though, was not something I could handle.  All of your female characters were hopelessly insecure, waiting for their Prince Charming, and acting as though these things were totally normal.  Finally, toward the end of the book, there were some short stories that were a bit more interesting, had more depth, and showed more perspectives.  And, I guess, what else should I have expected from a book called “The Guy Not Taken”?  But I wish that, first, the stories were organized in a more interesting way, and second, that they weren’t ALL about women losing men, finding men, and generally revolving around men.  I’m giving it three stars.

I dunno.  Maybe I’m just not cut out for grown-up hetero love-gone-wrong stories.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

