Dear Kelly Link and Shaun Tan,

Pretty Monsters OH. MY. GOD. I’ve just found my new goddess. Kelly, you are like…Neil Gaiman, only (gods of nerd-dom forgive me) BETTER. And also female, which makes me so happy, because too many of my personal speculative fiction deities are male.

Each story in Pretty Monsters is so compelling, so totally absorbing, that I felt like I was reading a whole bunch of novels, really fast. They don’t feel short at all, and they create a huge variety of really detailed, vibrant worlds in which the action takes place. Every protagonist is different from every other, and every story has a moment of utter weirdness, or spookiness, or heart-rendingness, that I couldn’t resist.  FIVE STARS, for sure.  I’m reading your other collections as soon as I can get my hands on them. And to think, I met you at NEIBA, and had no idea how much I would love your writing! I hope I get the chance to meet you again.

PS to Shaun–the illustrations you did to open each story are the perfect addition, and beautiful to boot.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

