Dear Sarah Monette,

MelusineOnce again, I wish there were more gradiations of stars. Melusine gets four, because it was highly entertaining to me as a lover of fantasy, and of all things queer. Unfortunately, it falls into that category of fantasy that isn’t really outstanding in its writing, and has moments that make me cringe–but I love it anyway. I enjoyed the world created in this book, though sometimes it felt forced, and I enjoyed the characters, though sometimes they behaved so erratically or were so unusual in appearance that I felt like I was reading a fanfiction. One thing I thought was brilliant was your ability to hide information from me. The mysteries of the story were much harder for me to figure out than they usually are in this kind of book, all due to your apparent skill at withholding information without the text seeming lacking. Overall, I really enjoyed it! It’s been a good long while since I read any fantasy written for an adult audience specifically, and it felt really, really good to be back in the fold.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

