Dear Janet Taylor Lisle,

Highway CatsIt seems like all my reviews are either 4 or 5 stars…I can’t bear to give a book less than that unless I really didn’t enjoy it.  Anyway, your new book Highway Cats was a fun, light, four-star read. The ending was mysterious/magical/vague in a way that I found fine, but I can imagine more demanding readers than I not liking the unexplained-ness of it. Other than that, I think it was a cute (to use Susan Bloom’s least-favorite word), heartwarming sort of adventure, great for reluctant readers, or kids who don’t have the stamina to get through a longer or more complicated book.

PS – I love a lot of your other work, btw–Afternoon of the Elves, Lost Flower Children and The Lampfish of Twill were favorites of mine as a kid!

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

