Dear Gregory Maguire,

WickedOkay. Wicked the musical is my most recent obsession. I adore it. So much so that I decided to read Wicked the book, which I’ve attempted to do before, with great lack of success. This time I suffered all the way through it, and still hated it. I can see why some readers like it, I really can, but it was NOT the book for me. Your writing style is drier than a desert, the dialogue is lifeless, and I found all of the characters, even Elphaba, mostly unlikable. Their personalities seemed to change drastically from section to section, and even from chapter to chapter… I never felt like I was reading about the same people I’d been reading about before. There were too many loose ends, also, things that got brought up but never were resolved or heard of again, and things I felt should be important weren’t, while things I couldn’t care less about became featured. The ending was just awful. The one thing I did appreciate was your varied use of the source material–I found that I always agreed with your choice as to whether to draw from the book or from the movie when you were making a reference to existing stories. I’m glad I now know what happens in the book, because it’s very different from the musical, but that’s about as far as I can go with this one.  Sorry, Mr. Maguire…two stars.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

