Dear Adam Rex,

The True Meaning of SmekdayI’m ashamed to say I hadn’t heard of you until this past Book Expo in LA.  Part of my job with ABC this year was to help run the art auction at our annual BEA event, and my favorite piece of art in the auction was yours!  It was an illustration of these awesome little aliens coming out of a store, and I totally loved it, but the price got too high by the end of the auction for me to take it home.  I did remember the title of the book it was from, though–The True Meaning of Smekday.  I was intrigued, but too busy to make it to the library.  Fortunately, not long after BEA, I happened to be traveling, and the tiny book stand in South Station had your book in its children’s section!  I bought it, read it on the bus, and LOVED it! The writing is great, just funny enough, and the art is fantastic too–especially the little comic in the middle. I was a tad confused/disappointed by the very very end, but overall it was fantastic!  Five stars, in spite of the ending.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

