Dear Neil Gaiman,

Fragile ThingsI adore you. I adore your work.  I adore your blog, and the awesome video of you singing Creepy Doll with JoCo.  So, clearly I was predisposed to like Fragile Things, your multiple-award-winning short story collection.  Except something went wrong–though there were some stories that I thought were true gems, and nothing less than I expected of one of the gods of my personal geek universe, there were one or two stories that left me bored.  I put your book down in the middle of that one about the gastronomists for a month or two before picking it up again.  What happened?

It’s okay, though.  I still adore your work.  You rock.  Also, I can’t wait to get my hands on the graphic adaptation of my fave story in the collection, The Facts in the Case of the Departure of Miss Finch.  You+Michael Zulli=wonderfulness.
You get three stars from me this time, but I’m sure The Graveyard Book will up your average.

Love,

apple

Wanna check out this title for yourself?  Try the Indie Bound or ABC bookstore finders!

Leave a Reply

